Block level science based competition held at Kalaigaon


KALAIGAON, Oct 11: A block-level science-based competition was held at Kalaigaon October 10 with various science-based events namely-science model making, science-based extempore speech and science-based poster drawing competitions. The science competition was organized by Aryabhatta Science Centre, Kalaigaon Block under the aegis of Assam Science Technology & Environment Council (ASTEC), Guwahati. Child scientists from various schools namely-Kalaigaon HSS, Kalaigaon Adarsha HS, LB Public School. Borbagan HS, Chengapathar Girls HS, Bananguri HS, Tengabari HS, Balipara KM HS,Chengapathar Girls HS participated in various science events and competitions. Maheswar Boro, MLA, Kalaigaon LAC inaugurated the competition at 10 am. Speaking on the occasion he requested students and teachers to give importance to study of basic science and to create scientific temperament so as to remove blind faiths and superstitions from the minds of people. He also mentioned that the government had provided scientific tools and computer labs in most of the schools which were not utilized properly by the schools. Sujata Goswami, ALRS cum Revenue Circle Officer I/C, Kalaigaon attended as the chief guest. She thanked teachers and students for participation and also thanked Aryabhatta Science Centre Kalaigaon Block for organizing science events at Kalaigaon. Five numbers of teachers of Kalaigaon were felicitated on the occasion with citation and gamocha for their life long contribution in making science popular among students and also for the promotion of science & technology in villages. The felicitated teachers were-Benu Ranjan Dey, former HM of LB Public School, Kalaigaon; Mahibul Rahma an, senior science teacher of Kalaigaon HSS; Narendra Chandra Boro, a senior science teacher of Sanjwarang HS; Harish Rajbanshi, science teacher of Chengapathar Girls HS and Biswajit Deka, a science teacher of Kalaigaon Adarsha HS. The session was specially addressed by national level child scientist Barasha Deka. Distinguished people namely- Binu Deka, HM, Kalaigaon Adarsha HS; Joykanta Deka, HM, Borbagan HS, Basanta Kumar Deka, HM, LB Public School also attended the science session.

Following students won the first three places respectively in three categories and will participate in the district level event to be held in November this year. I science model making: Rocky Alam and Jebnur Rahman (LB Public School) won the first position followed by Rashidul Islam and Fazlul Karim (Borbagan HS) with the second position and Suchitra Saharia and Nikuma Pathak (Kalaigaon HSS) with the third position. In science-based extempore speech-Priyanka, Saharia (Borbagan HS); Chinmoy Nath (Paschim Silpota HS) and Nargis Begum (LB Public School) won first three places respectively. In science-based poster drawing competition -Anima Devi (Kalaigaon Adarsha HS); Dhanasmita Barua (LB Public School) and Nirupam Kataki (Chengapara HS) won first three places respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here